Election result: your local councillors

The four councillors who will represent Westhill and District following the local authority elections on May 5 are (in alphabetical order):

David Aitchison, Scottish National Party
Ron Mckail, Scottish Conservative and Unionist
Alistair Mckelvie, Scottish Conservative and Unionist
Iris Walker, Scottish Liberal Democrats

In total, 70 councillors will form the next five-year term of Aberdeenshire Council. The overall result was:

Scottish Conservative and Unionist 23
Scottish National Party 21
Scottish Liberal Democrats 14
Independents 10
Scottish Labour Party 1
Scottish Green Party 1

The new council is due to take meet on May 18 to decide key councillor roles.